Harmony of the Seas vs. Hurricane Irma.

Happy Friday beautiful people! So, I know I just posted about my most recent sailing on the Mariner of the Seas, but I felt like why not give you guys a little insight to legit, the best cruise of my life. September 2017 wasn’t an easy month for the state of Florida. All of us were in fear and preparing for what was going to be one of the most catastrophic natural disasters in quite some time, Hurricane Irma. Literally, if the hurricane continued as to what it was supposed to be, Florida would be completely wiped. PEACE OUT.

So obviously, cruises aren’t planned overnight, and my best friend Lismary and I had this cruise booked with her family on the Harmony of the Seas, and no damn hurricane was going to stop that (unless it was cancelled of course). Now you may be thinking, you’re f**cking crazy for going on a ship while there is a freakin’ monster happening heading your way. Yeah, just crazy enough though.

We said “Bon Voyage!” and boarded the most beautiful ship I’ve ever seen. Biggest ship in the world (by the way, the Symphony is the biggest now so if you’re looking to sail, let me know). Obviously with this bi*ch Irma coming our way, we knew one of two things would be happening while we were on board: we’re either coming home early, or we’re staying out longer.

So, long story short, the Captain proposed to us on the Wednesday of our sailing that we would be extending our cruise and instead of returning that Saturday (7 nights) we would return Tuesday (10 night). HELL YES! You’re extending my trip, for free? Bye! Beverage package 50% off? Charge it to my card please.

It was terrifying to hear what may or may not be going on back home, and I was concerned for a large part of my sailing, but as soon as I heard that beast Irma moved over and was not going to be a direct hit anymore, I was ready to continue the partying on board the spectacular Harmony of the Seas.

Now real quick, I want you to know about the best people I met on board, some who I am still very close with till this day. It took a few days to make some friends, but when we did, it stuck, and we ran that shit. We met awesome people like Hector, Arianna, and Fernando who actually live just a few hours away from us and were amazing to party with. Then we met someone like Saigan who was by far the quirkiest, funniest, and most interesting person I could’ve met. Plus two cubans who dressed impeccably and live in Miami just like us (ha, Lismary). Another person who if you blinked your eye he disappeared for the next 48 hours, Ernie. And last but not least, we met Ryan, my unicorn and one of the most amazing people I still know and talk to till the very day.

Besides that, the food was fantastic as usual, the drinks were flowin’ (thanks Shelton! – best bartender at Royal Caribbean), the music was upbeat and honestly I don’t think I ever danced so much in my life.

The people I met on board made the trip everything it was. While some were there to party, others were there to teach me life lessons and make a difference in my life. So to all of you who are reading this and have experienced something like this, you know exactly what I mean when I say that you make the best friendships when you travel. For those of you reading this who were actually on board, you all ready for the next one? Bon Voyage!

 

Leave a comment